{GIF} Review: The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

Title: The Truth About Forever

Author: Sarah Dessen

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance, Realistic Fiction

Publisher: Penguin Group Inc.

Publication Date: May 11th 2004

Source: Own Hardcover

Goodreads Summary: A long, hot summer…
That’s what Macy has to look forward to while her boyfriend, Jason, is away at Brain Camp. Days will be spent at a boring job in the library, evenings will be filled with vocabulary drills for the SATs, and spare time will be passed with her mother, the two of them sharing a silent grief at the traumatic loss of Macy’s father.
But sometimes unexpected things can happen—things such as the catering job at Wish, with its fun-loving, chaotic crew. Or her sister’s project of renovating the neglected beach house, awakening long-buried memories. Things such as meeting Wes, a boy with a past, a taste for Truth-telling, and an amazing artistic talent, the kind of boy who could turn any girl’s world upside down. As Macy ventures out of her shell, she begins to wonder, Is it really better to be safe than sorry?

My thoughts:

This is the only book that I’ve ever picked up, without reading the reviews, just because of the author. I’ve only ever read 1 other book by Sarah Dessen, which was Just Listen, and totally fell in love with it.

So, here’s The Truth About Forever and all I can think of when I try to review is:

I’m speechless.

Since I’m all for pictures saying more than words, I’m going to make this a GIF Review!

On to the actual review:

Sarah Dessen always manages to take a damaged girl, and reinvent her life for the better. This is what she does with Macy. Macy’s been stuck in this perfect bubble ever since her dad died. She genuinely thinks that she can be perfect. One day, after her run in with a catering company and their hectic life, she realizes that maybe perfection isn’t so… perfect.

I LOVED this book. It’s funny how the book wants to tell you that perfection doesn’t exist, but in a way, manages to be perfectly crafted.

The characters:

All the characters were amazing. ALL OF THEM. They were all so layered. Even the side characters. They always managed to bring a smile to my face.

The romance:

Wes and Macy were so great together! It was nice to see that they were more than just a couple, they were friends first and foremost, and it was nice to see their relationship evolve. It makes me wish to have a friendship like theirs. Although, at one point in the book, I was just like: “KISS ALREADY!”, but overall, I was just really giddy.

Book in general:

Rating: 5 stars

it was amazing

M signature

Find the Book: Amazon| Barnes and Noble| Goodreads

Author: Website

4 thoughts on “{GIF} Review: The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

  1. Ah, your images made me smile, especially the Disney one! 🙂 Glad you liked this Sarah Dessen novel, I’m hoping to read The Moon and More this summer – it will be my first novel by her.

    Like

    1. So sorry I hadn’t approved your comment! WordPress had detected it as Spam 😦 Anyways, I hope you enjoy The Moon and More! I want to read it too!
      -Marianne

      Like

Leave a comment